Typography in magazines

I have decided to research typography in magazine spreads, here are a couple designs I found.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 23.00.19

I like the contrasting colours in this design, I also like how they have put the word along the bottom of the spread, this draws your attention to the main lettering and it’s worked for me, the san serif font used is very light and I dont think it adds to much weight to the page.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 23.00.22

I think this design is very interesting, I like the fonts used and typography on the first page, it doesnt ruin the legibility of text because they have used very contrasting colours, although I would disagree with the text clash on the second page, although you can read it i think it makes the white text slightly hard to see.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 23.00.25

This is probably my favourite out of the three, the word runaway gets smaller and smaller which plays with the meaning of the word itself, as it goes further along the page it gets smaller which refers to what would happen from your eyesight if something were to runaway. I also like the contrasting colours, these colours seem to be in trend and they go very well together.

Leave a Reply

