Website evaluation

Evaluation and Reflection:

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

The visual communication of my website is exactly what the brief asks for, understanding of digital media and experimenting with different browsers and techniques.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I think the way my website doesn’t have a secondary format i.e for use by mobile phone.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

The strengths of visual communication on my website is probably the way I emphasise my portfolio and the way my website is structured, I have made it very clear that I want them to go to my gallery by putting various buttons on screen.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

My weakness in visual communication probably comes down to contact, I don’t think I put enough on my website of how people can get in touch with me.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

I could improve the website by making it larger and containing more information, also by creating it for different devices i.e iPhone/android

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

I think my time keeping for this brief was fair, the brief didn’t ask for much and I feel like I done enough to exceed the projects expectations.

How was my analysis of the brief?

The brief was at parts hard to understand but in general I knew what was being asked from me.

How was my research?

My research was very in depth, I took a look at many websites and different techniques which actually gave me a lot of inspiration.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

From sketches and website development.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I used experimentation when it came to animations etc, some of it was other the  top therefore I changed it up.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

Designing the website was my most enjoyable part of the project as I love web design.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed the whole project

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at al times?

I worked best when the deadline was closing in, maybe next time I should try and get that motivation from an early stage

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I think coding would be a very helpful skill to learn when it comes to web design and I think I need to begin learning this very soon.

Leave a Reply

