Penguin book design process

On this post I will run through the early and main stages of the book design.

The general idea of my design was to incorporate love, science and emotions into one image (or several) I wanted to illustrate something that made the reader think of at least two of those things, so I drew some thumbnails and came up with the idea of two water tanks each side of the book, one with a happy face and the other with a  sad face, both tanks pouring a colourful liquid from scientific tubes into a broken glass heart, this was just a random idea I came up with and how I wanted to incorporate these themes.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-18-05-58This is the sort of look I came up with, now it’s time to make this look colourful.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-18-28-36

To begin with I designed this scientific tube in which the liquids would pour from. I will duplicate and reflect this tube so I can use it for the other side.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-19-10-57

This is now near the end of the illustration, you can see how I went with the same idea I had of liquids pouring into the glass heart (broken) the reason I choose for this heart to be broken is simply to emphasise the balance of emotions in the image, not everything is colourful and happy.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-20-41-57

Here’s what I came up with for the final design of the cover, I am very very happy with how this turned out and I don’t think I would change a lot with this design.

Leave a Reply

